Print / Share  


LSUS Students Name Professor of the Year, Annual Student Leadership Award Recipients Announced

May 14, 2021

Shreveport, LA-LSU Shreveport students announced Dr. Alexander Mikaberidze as the 2021 Professor of the Year and awarded 15 variable student honors in its 2020-21 Student Leadership Awards, two of the university's annual traditions.

In a special video announcement, Student Government President and senior Tyson Lee, revealed six student-selected finalists in the running for the 2021 Professor of the Year award. Finalists for the honor included Brent Bost and Fadi Fawaz (College of Business), Samuel Cannon and Alexander Mikaberidze (College of Arts and Sciences), Lisa Cooper and Hsin-Ya Tang (College of Education and Human Development).

"I learned about the award as I left my last lecture this semester, a fitting end to an interesting semester," Dr. Mikaberidze, Professor of History said. "I felt an array of emotions-gratitude, grace, recognition, and appreciation. Teaching has and will continue to be a dream in pursuit; a quest for self-improvement; a journey that I hope to take so many more students on. It is incredible to welcome a stranger into the classroom and see them thrive and learn, then make decisions that change the directions of their lives. Being a teacher is a huge privilege and I cherish every moment of it. So, this award is very meaningful, for it comes from the students and recognizes something that is indeed a labor of love. I hope that I am the educator they described in their statements; it is who I want to be!"

The Student Leadership Awards were held live via Facebook to recognize both individual students and student organizations for their hard work and dedication, especially in response to the challenges of the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic. Despite those challenges, LSUS students, faculty, and staff continued to persevere. According to this year's annual report submissions, LSUS student groups were able to commit over 1,000 hours of campus and community volunteerism.

"This event is the culmination of a unique year full of challenges and learning experiences," Director of Student Activities and Recreational Sports Angel Martin said. "Leadership is essential on the LSUS Campus because it shapes our culture. The contributions of our students, faculty and staff are one of the primary reasons why LSUS has an upstanding reputation in our community, and across the nation. Most of the awards presented were determined by student nominations and student committees."

You can view the full announcement of the Professor of the Year award here. A full list of the Student Leadership Awards is included below, or you can visit the Student Activities Board at LSUS's Facebook page to view the full announcement.

2020-21 LSUS Student Leadership Awards

Student Government Association Service Awards
Courtney Jackson, Secretary
Molly Kelly, Vice President
Tyson Lee, President

SGA Senator of the Year
Shelby Willis

Student Activities Board Member of the Year
LaKeyla Williams

Greek Week Champions
Phi Mu

Greek Leader of the Year
Molly Kelly, Phi Mu

Greek Organization of the Year
Phi Mu

Outstanding New Student Organizations
Active Minds

Outstanding Growth of a Student Organization
Black Studies Association

Outstanding Community Service
Alpha Epsilon Delta

Outstanding Campus Engagement
Friends of MSF

Outstanding Perseverance Award
Sigma Phi Iota

Excellence in Virtual Programming
Active Minds

Student Organization Advisor of the Year
Angie Pellerin, Active Minds

Student Leaders of the Year
Matthew Bynog
Tiffany Robinson

Student Organization of the Year
Friends of MSF

About LSUS
Founded in 1967, Louisiana State University Shreveport offers a wide array of nationally accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs, including a doctoral degree. The university's mission is to educate a diverse population of graduate and undergraduate students; engage in regional and global thought leadership through community collaboration and service; and innovate to enhance the application of knowledge and intellectual discovery through faculty and student research and creative endeavors.

Apply Visit Request Information