Print / Share  


LSU Shreveport 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award Winner Announced


The 2013 LSU Shreveport Distinguished Alumni Award winner was honored at the LSUS Alumni Association's Annual Meeting at Briarwood, the 1928 historic Mansfield home of Marcia (2000) and Riemer Calhoun, Jr.

Peggy Johnson Cloud (BA 1975) was recognized as the 2013 Distinguished Alumna for her significant contributions to the Caddo Parish School System and LSU Shreveport. Johnson began teaching in Caddo Parish in August 1976 as a substitute teacher at Youree Drive Middle School. She became a certified teacher in 1980 and continued at Youree Drive, St. Joseph's School, and Hamilton Terrace Junior High School. At Youree Drive she taught Math, Science, and Gifted until 1981. Johnson moved to Caddo Parish Magnet High School in 1982 and taught Computer Science and Algebra I until her retirement in 1999. She holds a Masters +30 with course work at LSU Baton Rouge, LA Tech, Northwestern and Centenary. Her certification includes Social Studies, Mathematics, Gifted, Learning Disabled, Parish and City Supervisor, and Principalship.

Johnson served on the Louisiana state textbook committee for the selection of Math and Computer Science texts.  She served on numerous evaluation committees for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), taught Math for LSU Shreveport as an adjunct professor, and was a four-year summer NSF Grant Team Member at ULM to certify teachers in Computer Literacy. She was a member of the Louisiana Association of Teachers of Mathematics (LATM) and served on the executive board for several years.  Additionally, she belonged to the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Educators (LACUE), where she often attended professional development workshops and made professional presentations.

As a Master Teacher, Johnson sponsored youngsters entering competitions in Computer Science, used cooperative learning in her classes, graphs, tables, and other statistical information for students to judge the validity of information, calculators to solve problems as needed, and encouraged students to verbalize problems and to seek solutions to the problems. 

In 2008 Peggy and her husband, Dr. Dalton Cloud, an original faculty member at LSU Shreveport, jointly endowed the Dr. Dalton and Peggy Cloud Endowed Professorship in Communications in the College of Liberal Arts with funds from their retirement savings. Their $60,000 gift was matched with $40,000 by the Louisiana Board of Regents for a total endowment of $100,000. The current faculty recipient of the professorship is Mary "Jorgi" Jarzabek, Electronic Media Journalism Director. Dr. Linda Webster, Professor and Chair, Communications Department, was a previous recipient. Dr. Cloud retired from LSUS as professor emeritus in 1995.

Louisiana State University in Shreveport is a public university proudly serving the Shreveport-Bossier educational community with 26 undergraduate degree programs and 13 master's degree programs, and over 70 student organizations.  LSUS is a member of the LSU System, and provides a number of centers and institutes that serve as valuable economic development and educational resources to the community, as well as to our students. To find out more about LSUS, call 318-797-5000, or visit  To join the LSUS Alumni Association, visit



Apply Visit Request Information