Print / Share  


LSUS Chapter of ODK initiates 35 New Members

The LSU Shreveport "Pilot's Circle" of Omicron Delta Kappa, The National Leadership Honor Society, initiated 35 members on April 26, 2013. The initiation ceremony was conducted by Ms. Faye Razon, President; Dr. Stephen W. Banks, FI Biol, MRSC, Secretary; Dr. Beverly J. Burden, Treasurer, and Ms. Julie Lessiter M.Ed., MBA, Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs at LSUS. Ms Lessiter was sworn in as the faculty advisor for the "Pilot's Circle" during the ceremony.

Membership is awarded to undergraduate junior and senior students and to graduate students who rank in the upper 35 percent in scholarship of their school or college and must show leadership in at least one of five phases of campus life: scholarship; athletics; campus or community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech, and the mass media; or creative and performing arts.  An individual achieving distinction in his or her profession or rendering outstanding service through leadership may be elected to honorary membership.

This year's guest speaker was Dr. Helen Taylor, Professor of English; O.D. Harrison Jr. Professor of  Liberal Arts and Director of the Master of Liberal Arts Program at LSUS. whose speech drew attention to some of the earliest writings about leadership.

President Razon graduates from LSUS in May and is followed as President of the "Pilot's Circle" by Mr. Rashad George who took the oath of office during the initiation ceremony.

The new members are:

Leah Aiken of Shreveport, LA,  Manaal Alwadi of Shreveport, LA,  Emily Cygil Bartlett of Shreveport, LA, Kelly Diane Boss of Bentonville, AR, Mallory Danielle Browning of Bossier City, LA, Bin Chen of Shreveport, LA,  Ross G. Davis of Shreveport, LA, Allen Corcoran Degges of Shreveport, LA,  Gretchen N. Edwards-Page of Shreveport, LA, Kristina Eidemiller of Haughton, LA, Danielle Shae Fauber of Haughton, LA, Rebecca Susan Felegy of Saginaw, TX, Jared D. Fleming of Shreveport, LA,  Rustin Lombas Frickey of Marrero, LA,  Rashad George of Greenville, LA,  Gordon P. Gibson, III, MA of Bossier City, LA, Leah J. Jackson of Prairieville, LA,  Samantha K. Johnson of Shreveport, LA,  Melissa Kinnebrew of Shreveport, LA, Jacqueline B. Langford of Bossier City, LA, Christopher Paul Marlin of Shreveport, LA,  Heather Lynn McCutchen of Shreveport, LA, Adam Chase Migliore of Shreveport, LA,  John J. Miralles, MFA of Shreveport, LA,  Sara E. Myers of Shreveport, LA, Jason M. Rowe, of Shreveport, LA, Saad Shams of Longview, TX,  Sierra Smith of Shreveport, LA,  Kristina F. Terry of Shreveport, LA,  Joseph Valentine of Blanchard, LA,  Michael F. Webb of Bossier City, LA,  Katherine Willcox of Bossier City, LA,  Clarissa Williams of Shreveport, LA,  Nadia Monet Williams of Shreveport, LA, Christianne Wojcik, MA. of Shreveport, LA.


Apply Visit Request Information