Print / Share  


LSUS Names Dr. Cay Evans Department of Education Chair

February 11, 2020

Dr. Cay Evans 

SHREVEPORT, LA- Louisiana State University Shreveport has appointed Dr. Cay Evans as its new Department of Education Chair. The appointment was recently announced by Dr. Dennis R. Wissing, Dean of the College of Education and Human Development. 

Dr. Evans has been with the university for over 25 years. Dr. Evans earned her Ph.D. with a specialization in Reading and Literacy from the University of Georgia and is a Professor and the former Director of Graduate Programs. During her time at LSUS, Dr. Evans has been instrumental in academic and certificate program development in areas such as English as a Second Language, Educational Technology Facilitator, Educational Technology Leader, Computer Science Education, STEM, Adult Education, and TeachLSUS COMMAND.

“I am confident with Dr. Evans’ leadership and faculty, the School of Education will continue to grow as a showcase offering of the university,” said Dr. Wissing. “This, along with her interest in developing new programs, will help LSUS take teacher training and development to new heights.”

LSUS has a long track record of producing top talent in the education field, such as the 2020 Louisiana Elementary Principal of the Year, Lisa Burns, the 2019 Louisiana Middle School Teacher of the Year, Kathryn Ferguson and the 2019 Louisiana State Teacher of the Year, Spencer Kiper. Even with this success, the faculty and staff in the Department of Education are focused on finding new ways to meet the needs of the rapidly evolving landscape of educational instruction. 

“Being able to serve the Department of Education as Chair is an honor, and it is a privilege to work alongside the dedicated professors and staff in the Department,” said Dr. Evans. “Our vision for the future is one of community engagement and innovation in preparing the best teacher leaders possible.”

For more information about the Department of Education, please contact Dr. Cay Evans 318-797-5034 or 

Founded in 1967, Louisiana State University Shreveport offers a wide array of nationally accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs, including a doctoral degree. The university’s mission is to educate a diverse population of graduate and undergraduate students; engage in regional and global thought leadership through community collaboration and service, and innovate to enhance the application of knowledge and intellectual discovery through faculty and student research and creative endeavors.

Apply Visit Request Information