Print / Share  

Faculty Senate


The LSUS Faculty Senate consists of members of the Faculty Council elected to represent their colleges. The Faculty Senate is the primary vehicle of faculty governance on campus and is authorized by the regulations of the LSU Board of Supervisors. The Faculty Senate represents the interests of the Faculty Council and works collaboratively with the University Administration to carry out the educational purposes of the university. It serves in an advisory and consultative role in matters concerning curricula, instructional standards, and general educational policy. The Faculty Senate can consider any issue that affects the interests of faculty, students, and the campus as a whole.

Each college elects two or more members to the Faculty Senate to serve three year terms. The officers of the senate, namely the President, Vice president, Secretary, Parliamentarian, and two Senators at Large, form the executive committee, and are elected by senators annually. The senate also has various committees (e.g. the Admissions and Standards committee) to deal with specific issues.

Faculty Senate meetings are held once a month in the Fall and Spring semesters. The executive committee meets separately to set the agenda for each meeting. Faculty members may approach their faculty representatives or members of the executive committee to bring issues to the attention of the senate. Faculty members are encouraged to attend these meetings to familiarize themselves with the working of their senate. These meetings are open to all members of the campus community.

Constitution and ByLaws

Apply Visit Request Information